Women’s Cup Competition 2019

Further to the announcement in 2018 regarding the new Tennent’s Women’s League and Cup competition structure, Scottish Rugby are pleased to announce the pools and fixtures for the first round of the upcoming Cup competition.  

Pool 1:                                      Pool 2:                                      Pool 3:

Ayr                                           Cartha Queens Park                  Hillhead Jordanhill

Biggar                                       Oban Lorne                               Stewartry

Wigtownshire                           West of Scotland                       Hamilton


Pool 4:                                      Pool 5:                                      Pool 6:

Stirling County                          Corstorphine Cougars             Watsonians

Orkney                                     Grangemouth                           Kirkcaldy

Aberdeenshire                          Livingston                                 Liberton


Pool 7:                                      Pool 8:                                      Pool 9:

Broughton                                Heriot’s                                     Howe of Fife

Lismore                                    Kelso                                        Stornoway

Falkirk                                      RDVC                                        Inverness Craig Dunain


Pool 10:                                    Pool 11:

Glasgow University                   Garioch

Annan                                        Shetland

Ardrossan Academicals            Huntly

Greenock Wanderers                Peterhead 

As per agreed by the clubs, teams were drawn on a regional basis and in line with the suggested format of a split of Premiership, National and Regional teams. 

Each regional pool will play round robin fixtures from 3 March to 17 March. Following completion of these fixtures the draws for the Sarah Beaney Cup, Women’s Plate and Women’s Bowl Preliminary Rounds will be made with these fixtures taking place on 31 March. 

The first placed teams in each pool will enter the Sarah Beaney Cup, second place will enter the Women’s Plate and the third and fourth placed teams will enter the Women’s Bowl. 

The process to confirm all League and Cup competition rules and regulations is currently underway. Clubs have been invited to review and comment on these draft rules.

The final League and Cup Competition rules and regulations will be shared with clubs upon completion of this process ahead of the competition commencing.  

Head of Girls’ and Women’s rugby Gemma Fay said, “Thank you to all of the clubs and stakeholders involvement in the consultation period for the League and Cup Competitions. We appreciate the continued support in the development of the women’s game in Scotland. We believe that this new format will provide for an exciting start to 2019 and we are looking forward to the first fixtures."